Northeastern Atheists Reject Well-Wisher’s Sentiments, Thumb Noses at God


The attitudes and rudeness of some in the face of true, life endangering peril is truly astounding. Take this man’s comments, for instance:

Northeastern Atheists Reject Well-Wisher's Sentiments, Thumb Noses at God

You can read the responses at NYC Mayor: City May Turn Off Power where most other Northeasterners chastise the man for so callously disregarding the well-wishes of others. Still, there are some co-atheists who join him in his negative sentiments.

This kind of attitude, sadly, is becoming more prevalent as people either forget God, or outright reject him in the same way a toddler rejects his parents’ attempts to placate him during a temper tantrum. I wish they could know what I know about God and His deep care and love for us.

It is a teenager’s nature to say “I HATE YOU!” to his parents when things don’t go his way or when bad things happen, even when his parents didn’t exactly cause those things deliberately and would rather he learn from the situation. Similarly, it is the way of atheists to shake their fists to the sky (at what, they don’t know) and proclaim curses against God, who is simply waiting for them to learn and grow from the natural adversities of life.

Mary Magdalene, in a dramatic 19th-century pop...

Image via Wikipedia

That is the purpose of this life…not to be cushioned in a bubble so that nothing bad happens and everything good happens. That would be a very dull and boring life indeed.

Easy for me to say, living in the Midwest where no hurricane activity happens and in a part far enough North to not see a whole lot of tornado activity, right? Not all adversity is storm-related. We can’t assume that just because a person appears to be living a charmed life that they haven’t experienced, or won’t experience, some kind of tribulation. Some atheists would be wise to realize this.

The notion of feeling like you’re so self-reliant that you don’t need God to protect you for any reason whatsoever is just so much spitting into the wind. It’s to blind oneself from the hugely destructive possibilities of both nature and mankind. Prayer DOES work, even if it doesn’t work as the person praying the prayer intends. Having had much experience with answered prayers, I can say definitively that had God answered my prayers the way I had wanted Him to, I would have brought down much more difficulty on myself than His ignoring them might ever have done.

God knows what is best for us…whether we choose to acknowledge Him or not. Trust Him, and not the “arm of the flesh”.

6 thoughts on “Northeastern Atheists Reject Well-Wisher’s Sentiments, Thumb Noses at God

  1. In the comments you refer to above, stating that to take action rather than resort to prayer doesn’t (as you imply) equate to rejecting the plight of those suffering or mean the commenter/s don’t wish them well. It simply means that they may send money, get in a car, plane, train, or bus and actually do something useful that will actually help people rather than look skyward, pray to a god to help and protect those poor people, and walk away satisfied that the job is done.

    We can’t assume that just because a person appears to be living a charmed life that they haven’t experienced, or won’t experience, some kind of tribulation. Atheists would be wise to realize this.

    And you think atheists don’t realize this because…? How very christian of you to be so insulting to those who don’t share your beliefs. It is ironic but I know more atheists (myself included) who live a more christian-like life than so many hypocrites who profess to be christians.

  2. “And you think atheists don’t realize this because…?”

    I never said they didn’t. I know of many who do. I was referring to the general belief, fostered by today’s class-warfare climate, that there are only two categories of people…those who have adversity and those who do not. I know all types. I know people who are rich and miserable and I know people who are poor and happy. The happiness thread–true happiness, not just random, sustained pleasure–comes when people accept a role for God in their lives. That’s all.

    • Thanks for the clarification on the first point. As for happiness, I disagree.

      The happiness thread–true happiness, not just random, sustained pleasure–comes when people accept a role for God in their lives

      Again, this is your opinion/belief/view. There are many truly happy people (I am one) who don’t need a belief in god to be happy, and I’m not referring to sustained random pleasure, but true happiness, joy satisfaction, and love of life.

      • Happiness is a continuum. When I graduated from high school I thought I couldn’t be happier. When I graduated from college, the same. Wedding, first child, second, third, and fourth, ditto. My faith believes in constant progression toward more happiness and joy, even in the midst of deep adversity, when one strives toward stronger faith in and obedience to God. I have tested that promise and never found it wanting. I have also seen others abandon that belief and become miserable as a result.

        Atheists I’ve known are fond of saying that religion is a crutch. They are correct. We are all crippled in some way. Every one of us. I need that crutch to help me walk.

  3. And you are entitled to your crutch, just don’t assume everyone needs a crutch or the same crutch. By the way, I’ve run across some pretty miserable depressed people who are christians and/or who have accepted god into their lives,

  4. “miserable depressed people who are christians and/or who have accepted god into their lives” does not necessarily mean they walk the walk. I know plenty of them as well, who say “I’m saved”, yet they continue with one foot or both feet in the world, thinking that just the act of confession of Christ will make it all better. It doesn’t work that way.

    And I’m not assuming anything. Everyone needs a crutch. Atheism, for those who are really into it, is a crutch in and of itself! There are many crutches (religions) but only one offers salvation from physical and spiritual death. None of us can escape those two conditions on our own.

Leave a Reply

