Is Candidate Joe Walsh really a fiscal conservative?


Today I got an email from the Joe Walsh for Congress campaign with the following headline (which, oddly, is not yet found on the Walsh for Congress press page, so I can’t link to it):

Walsh Proposes Indexing Congressional Salaries to Median Household Income in the US

I like the idea of Congress having to live within the means of average Americans. Fantastic, actually, because they will truly “feel our pain”.  And that’s as it should be.

But that got me to thinking of something else recently reported about Joe Walsh that, if not resolved to the satisfaction of Tea Party supporters of his campaign, will make today’s headline irrelevant.

So, I sent an email to the press contact for the press release I received. Here is what I wrote (minus the personally identifiable info):

I live in Joe’s congressional district 8 in which he is running to oppose Melissa Bean.

I also run a Tea Party blog at https://therightofthepeople.wordpress.com and I recently posted about reports of Joe Walsh’s failures to pay his bills.

What is Joe’s answer to the following question:

How do you plan to overcome the objections of supporters and former supporters as to your desire to hold office where you will be expected to be fiscally conservative and competent with potentially billions in federal revenues and spending when clearly you have not met that level of responsibility for your own family?

I want Joe to know that, on a personal note, I have read his statements about being a good candidate for office because he is empathetic to the plight of other Americans who are now losing their homes. While I recognize that bad things can happen to good people, regardless of their preparation, that doesn’t hold water with me. “Other Americans” in this category are too often irresponsible Americans who got in over their heads on houses they couldn’t afford in down times.

I’m not in that category. I’m not a rich man by any stretch. I work an office job for somewhat average pay (after oppressive taxes, we all work for “average pay”). I live a financially stable lifestyle, in part because I cover all my bills on time. I don’t spend beyond my means. I don’t take out risky loans or investments. I manage my career well enough that I have created good opportunities for advancement in my field. I also have a plan B and plan C in case I lose my job for any reason. I’m living sustainably and trying to “get off the grid” so that my dependencies on external government are as few as possible.

With that in mind, I want to know how Joe Walsh represents me and my fiscally AND socially conservative values.

I will update this post with any responses I receive.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 thoughts on “Is Candidate Joe Walsh really a fiscal conservative?

  1. I notice that you have not posted any response from the Walsh campaign. Have they not responded?

Leave a Reply

