California gay marriage opponent fears for his life


via California gay marriage opponent fears for his life.

“I dedicated the majority of my working hours between January 2008 and November 2008 toward qualifying Proposition 8 for the ballot and campaigning for its enactment,” the San Francisco resident told the judge in May in urging to be named an official party to the lawsuit.

On Friday, Tam told the court that he was harassed and his property vandalized during the campaign, and feared similar retribution if he continued to represent gay marriage foes’ interest in the lawsuit and trial, which is scheduled to start Monday in San Francisco.

“In the past I have received threats on my life, had my property vandalized and am recognized on the streets due to my association with Proposition 8,” Tam said in a court filing. “Now that the subject lawsuit is going to trial, I fear I will get more publicity, be more recognizable and that the risk of harm to me and my family will increase.”

The lengths evil men (and women) will go to in order to self-confirm what is clearly not meant for man to participate in, as well as force others to accept and even participate in, is astounding, but not unprecedented.  I was reading about something like this in Genesis 19 recently.

Genesis 19:4-9

4 ¶ But before they lay down, the men of the city, even the men of Sodom, compassed the house round, both old and young, all the people from every quarter:
5 And they called unto Lot, and said unto him, Where are the men which came in to thee this night? bring them out unto us, that we may know them.

6 And Lot went out at the door unto them, and shut the door after him,
7 And said, I pray you, brethren, do not so wickedly.
8 Behold now, I have two daughters which have not known man; let me, I pray you, bring them out unto you, and do ye to them as is good in your eyes: only unto these men do nothing; for therefore came they under the shadow of my roof.
9 And they said, Stand back. And they said again, This one fellow came in to sojourn, and he will needs be a judge: now will we deal worse with thee, than with them. And they pressed sore upon the man, even Lot, and came near to break the door.

We know Lot was a merchant who craved “big city” life and a liberal way of living.  But, he was not wise in choosing Sodom and Gomorrah for his abode. He was equally unwise and quite un-fatherly to even let it cross his mind to offer up, as a distraction from the mob regarding his male guests, his daughters to men who clearly wanted homosexual relations with Lot’s guests and nothing at all to do with heterosexual relations.

God-fearing folks in San Francisco, and other areas with similar demographics and political leanings, should reconsider living there at some point.  I don’t know when that is as I can’t say I’m any kind of prophet.  Nor can I say that “destruction” would come in a physically cataclysmic event similar to Sodom and Gomorrah.  But, I do know that history tends to repeat itself.  As a student of history, I know what human beings will do to each other when confrontations over ideology, religion, and societal norms arise. I do know that wickedness never was happiness and that there is already an ongoing spiritual cataclysm in the homosexual community as well as the “straight” community.  The “new age” Christians, which are trying to reconcile charity and love of all mankind and the desire to not be considered “bigots” in the eyes of mankind, are unnecessarily setting up a collision between sympathy/empathy and the facts of nature: that men and women are complementary beings and that it is not natural (or sociologically and epidemiologically advisable) for men and women to marry and/or have sexual relations with each other.

Yet we shouldn’t forget the Lord’s mercy down to the last righteous person who might be holding a wicked city from wrath just by his/her simple prayers. God promised Abraham he would not destroy Sodom and Gomorrah unless fewer than 10 righteous people were found there.

Genesis 18:23-33

23 ¶ And Abraham drew near, and said, Wilt thou also destroy the righteous with the wicked?
24 Peradventure there be fifty righteous within the city: wilt thou also destroy and not spare the place for the fifty righteous that are therein?
25 That be far from thee to do after this manner, to slay the righteous with the wicked: and that the righteous should be as the wicked, that be far from thee: Shall not the Judge of all the earth do right?
26 And the Lord said, If I find in Sodom fifty righteous within the city, then I will spare all the place for their sakes.
27 And Abraham answered and said, Behold now, I have taken upon me to speak unto the Lord, which am but dust and ashes:
28 Peradventure there shall lack five of the fifty righteous: wilt thou destroy all the city for lack of five? And he said, If I find there forty and five, I will not destroy it.
29 And he spake unto him yet again, and said, Peradventure there shall be forty found there. And he said, I will not do it for forty’s sake.
30 And he said unto him, Oh let not the Lord be angry, and I will speak: Peradventure there shall thirty be found there. And he said, I will not do it, if I find thirty there.
31 And he said, Behold now, I have taken upon me to speak unto the Lord: Peradventure there shall be twenty found there. And he said, I will not destroy it for twenty’s sake.
32 And he said, Oh let not the Lord be angry, and I will speak yet but this once: Peradventure ten shall be found there. And he said, I will not destroy it for ten’s sake.
33 And the Lord went his way, as soon as he had left communing with Abraham: and Abraham returned unto his place.

Lot’s household consisted of fewer than 10 righteous individuals, apparently. In our day, Christians, Jews, and Muslims who believe in thousands of years of traditional morality, and others who reverence God’s longstanding commandments, would do well to watch carefully for the moment when it is clear that no amount of prayer, stewardship of moral society, or even civil disobedience to new pro-homesexual laws will be enough to stem the tide of wickedness that will begin to prevail.

Genesis 19:15-17

15 ¶ And when the morning arose, then the angels hastened Lot, saying, Arise, take thy wife, and thy two daughters, which are here; lest thou be consumed in the iniquity of the city.
16 And while he lingered, the men laid hold upon his hand, and upon the hand of his wife, and upon the hand of his two daughters; the Lord being merciful unto him: and they brought him forth, and set him without the city.
17 ¶ And it came to pass, when they had brought them forth abroad, that he said, Escape for thy life; look not behind thee, neither stay thou in all the plain; escape to the mountain, lest thou be consumed.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

