Online Learning: Better than the classroom…


A black and white icon of a teacher in front o...

Image via Wikipedia

Utah Poised to Lead Online Learning

1. I can work ahead if I’m able to
2. I get nearly instant responses from my teachers
3. I get personalized support when I need it
4. My teachers are just as excited about online learning as I am
5. I can do all my math for the week on one day if I want to
6. I know how I’m doing, my grades are right on the screen
7. My parents can see my work and grades
8. My courses are more challenging
9. I can keep up with my work when my family travels
10. I can work around a busy schedule

As I was reading the bullet point list in this article, I couldn’t help but compare that list of online education advantages to the advantages of home school. There is nearly a 1:1 relationship between each of these freedoms and those of home schoolers. It proves my point that the old model of parceling out knowledge via trained teachers as if it were a rare commodity that could only be imparted in a 1:30 ratio is an outdated model. Computer-based instruction, with further instruction and follow-up from teachers, tutors, or mentors, is just as capable of producing the same and even better results.

“Any teacher that can be replaced by a computer, deserves to be.” David Thornburg

“Much education today is monumentally ineffective. All too often we are giving young people cut flowers when we should be teaching them to grow their own plants.” John W. Gardner

“I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.” Mark Twain

“The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.” Alvin Toffler

3 thoughts on “Online Learning: Better than the classroom…

  1. Pingback: What would you say to your friendly local truant officer? #StopSB136 « The Right of the People

  2. Pingback: Hi, I’m the truant officer. I’m here to help you with your home schooled children. #StopSB136 « The Right of the People

  3. Pingback: Are You Learning Illiterate? « Karinconway's Blog

Leave a Reply

